Monmouth County officials have lifted the curfew for some municipalities, however the 7 p.m. to 7 a.m. ban is still in effect for coastal communities.

“A countywide curfew has been in effect since Tuesday to ensure the safety of our residents,” said Sheriff Shaun Golden. “We are now confident that the ban can be lifted for some of the county and appreciate the public’s compliance in this important order.”

The Sheriff explains that the curfew is still in effect for the coastal municipalities of Aberdeen, Allenhurst, Asbury Park, Atlantic Highlands, Avon-By-The-Sea, Belmar, Bradley Beach, Brielle, Deal, Interlaken, Hazlet, Highlands, Keansburg, Keyport, Lake Como, Loch Arbour, Long Branch, Manasquan, Matawan, Middletown east of Route 36, Monmouth Beach, Sea Bright, Sea Girt, Spring Lake and Union Beach.

The Sheriff reminds residents that although the county-wide ban has been lifted in roughly half of the towns, local municipal curfews may continue to remain in effect. The Sheriff advises residents to contact their local police non-emergency phone number for additional information.

In towns where the county-wide curfew remains in effect, only essential personnel may be outside and on the roads from 7 p.m. to 7 a.m. This includes emergency service personnel and those who are responsible for critical services within the county.